Salone del Mobile 2017 | Euroluce

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

‘Arrangements’ by Michael Anastassiades for Flos

The second big sector of Salone del Mobile this year was Euroluce. To tell you the truth I didn’t believe I’d be so impressed! To begin with, I saw Michael Anastassiades’ creations by my own eyes…only this could be enough. Except him though, the whole visit at Euroluce was a big experience! I felt deeply inside that lighting can be a piece of art and  really move you.

Some pavilions were very imposing, with the best of all (I could say best of all at the Salone) the pavilion of Flos. Words can’t describe how amazing it was. At first, it covered a whole block, roughly 10,000-square-foot, it had 2 floors (2nd only for vip members), with its perimeter closed, leaving only some narrow slots to have a sneak peak and raise your curiosity…and the texture of the facade was folding here and there like a concrete cloth. Beautiful! An architecture work only by itself.
So you entered the pavilion from one point and started a root very well organized, like you were in a museum. Starting from the exterior lighting fixtures, with greenery everywhere, like you were in a garden at night and continuing with several rooms that in every each of them you had something magical to discover.

Below you can see some of the creations of Michael Anastassiades that impressed me the most. He uncovered there his new collection of “arrangements”, a modular system of geometric light elements that could be combined in different ways, creating multiple compositions as individual chandeliers. Each unit simply attaches onto the previous one as if resting, balancing perfectly as part of a glowing chain’, explains the designer. I was totally fascinated by them! Check more about this series here.

At the following group of photos you can see some really interesting creations like Philippe Starck’s, in a room full of mirrors and lighting elliptical frames to create an eternal inception environment, in the name “Plus Belle”. You can see me and my friend P. posing in some of them, it was our hobby there! Other designers are Formafantasma, mobile chandeliers by M.Anastassiades in his own booth and some of the exterior lighting environment from which I don’t remember the designers.

Overcoming the sock by Flos, we continue with another apocalypse, the booth of Vibia. Beautiful design of the booth itself, beautiful lighting creations! I loved almost everything there, unfortunately it was very crowded when we visited it that I have only few photos to present. The hanging lighting spheres in combination with greenery was just amazing!

On the next group of photos I have some of Foscarini with the really impressive set up of their booth, a very cool interactive lighting system that you could change the brightness by moving your hand-not touching, unfortunately I don’t remember the designer, and [sygns] with neon installations.

You thought you’ve seen enough? Not yet!!! Below I have another apocalypse that amazed me at Euroluce: Davide Groppi. His linear creations were just fantastic! So minimal, almost imperceptible, presented the essence of light.
Also, I have some shots from Kundalini‘s booth that I liked a lot, and from Servomuto‘s booth that was very very interesting. If you want check them here, here and here.

Continuing, I have various shots by several big names such as Artemide, Panzeri, Louis Poulsen and more.

To sum up, I could say that minimal design, linear and discreet yet with such and intensity, making a big impression, the trends in lighting world got me full on board!

If you want more of the Salone del Mobile expo check the other post I’ve made here!

All photos by me and Ira Papadaki

One thought on “Salone del Mobile 2017 | Euroluce

  1. Pingback: Salone del Mobile 2017 | Workplace | my blue flamingo

Leave a Reply

