Kimolos – Part 3

Goupa central_mbfEven though these days in Greece we haven’t the most summery weather I will stick to my wish to keep the Kimolos posts united for two reasons. At first, anybody can see the beauty of this island and have a better idea of how my trip was like from these posts in a row. You see something here, tadaaa there is something more in the next post! πŸ˜‰ Or something like that!
The most important reason is this: These days I have a difficult time to find time!! And as I’m working a lot I’m again in a mood “oooh I need vacations so much!!!” While we were at Kimolos, the first days we had a difficulty with the weather and hadn’t seen all the beauty of the island, I was in a similar situation after a hard working week so I was like struggling to relax. And then we went to this amazing little bay, called Goupa, and something like a “crack” happened inside me and started connecting with the place! It was like magic! That’s why I’m posting this today, to remember that feeling again and share it with you.

Blue gradient in the sea

Blue gradient in the seaGoupa 4_mbf

Goupa is a small bay where a lot of fishermen have their homes and their “boat garages”…These garages created a beautiful scenic with pops of colors in the rocks! In combination with the sea and the forms that some rocks have it’s the perfect scenic! I think it’s not necessary to mention the feeling of swimming in these waters….it was like a natural pool! Just amazing!! I’ll let the pictures talk for themselves.

Goupa 2_mbf Goupa 3_mbf

Can you find the elephants on the rocks?

Can you find the elephants on the rocks?

Before going there we were told that an elephant is formed in the rocks, you have to see it! But as we were looking we found another elephant as well! The one of them is less famous than the other but impressive as well! Click on the photo to see it in larger size.

Goupa 6_mbf

Stalking geese

Stalking geeseGoupa 8_mbf

Goupa 9_mbf

Stalking everybody!

And yes, I have more!!! I will continue with another paradise in Kimolos, bigger this one. It’s about an island very close, Polyaigos. There you have jaws droppings etc..it’s so amazing you almost don’t believe it!

polyaigos 1Polyaigos has only one resident and it’s just pure nature! You can go there by boat in a few minutes from the port of Kimolos and you visit 5,6 different beaches. Actually they aren’t all of them beaches, in the most beautiful stop you just dive near giant rocks. And because of the white rocks of the region (where chalk is mined, remember..) the water is the bluest!!! It’s exactly like Blue Lagoon…try to breathe as you see the pictures!

Polyaigos 2Polyaigos 3

I can't believe I swam there 10 days before, such a paradise!

I can’t believe I swam there 10 days Ξ±Ξ³ΞΏ, such a paradise!

Polyaigos means a lot of goats :)

Polyaigos means a lot of goats πŸ™‚

Polyaigos 6 Polyaigos 7 Polyaigos 8 Take me back there…!!!Polyaigos 10 Polyaigos 11PS. Please forgive me for the huge post, I couldn’t control myself…

3 thoughts on “Kimolos – Part 3

  1. Pingback: Sikinos, Greece | Part 1 | my blue flamingo

  2. Pingback: Sikinos, Greece | Part 2 | my blue flamingo

  3. Pingback: Folegandros | The Sea | my blue flamingo

Leave a Reply

