Kimolos – Part 1

"Kimolos, my paradise"

“My Kimolos, my paradise”

At last I found some time to write about my summer vacation in Kimolos island!! I’ve returned two days now and I feel like it was a hole in time. I had such a wonderful time I can’t describe it! I fully charged my batteries, if only I had more time. Though you can never have enough time I think, right? That’s what comforts me.

Kimolos welcome_mbf

Welcome in Kimolos

Kimolos is a small island in Cyclades offered for quiet holidays. So if you want to party all the time maybe you shouldn’t go…but for me it was perfect. I needed to relax and that’s what happened! I only wanted to be all day at the beach, then go eat somewhere 5 steps near that and then go for a drink/stroll other 5 steps from there!

Kimolos horio_mbfKimolos has a raw beauty sometimes because it’s like it’s been forgotten from the 21st century. You leave behind the hectic life for good. There is only one village-town, that is a characteristic of small islands in Cyclades. Normally cars aren’t allowed to get in the village and a lot of roads are just dirt roads. Unfortunately, that makes it difficult to go to the north side of the island where the wildest beaches are.
In the village you can find traditional cafes and restaurants where native people are hanging out near you. You can hear the stories they say to each other, where usually you’re trying not to laugh! There aren’t a lot of tourists in a massive way. So you can really relax and let yourself free, connect to the environment and the people. I love that when it happens.

Kimolos kafeneio_mbf

“Kafenia” the traditional cafes

Kimolos horio_mbf

Kimolos streetlaundry_mbf

Laundry on the street

Kimolos cat-fish_mbf

Kimolos donkey_mbf An example of the dirt, rocky roads – Except church bells that were ringing all the time we had donkey brayings and rooster crowings as well!

Also, there are a lot (a lot!!) of churches that are ringing every half an hour to remind the time!! At first I was terrified that I would never sleep but eventually I had no problem! Instead I found it quite funny. Even in 4am for example the bell rings four times, crazy!

Kimolos church_mbf

One of the many churches of Kimolos. 17th century

The beaches are just dreamy! Deep blue see and white sand, nothing more to say…Chalk is mined in Kimolos, that’s why the rocks and sand are almost white. Besides, that’s where it had its name, “kimolia” in greek means chalk. We also went during an off-season period so the beaches were almost private! In another part of Kimolos dedicaded posts I will show you some places that we swam and I still can’t believe it. Blue lagoon without exaggeration!

Another cute characteristic was that all the paved streets were painted by locals or kids (i suppose…) where they also write how much they love their island. “My Kimolos, my paradise” is like a moto there.. And in some entrances on the traditional town you are welcome by words on the street, like the 2nd picture of the post. Such a warm welcome 🙂

kimolos navy_mbf

Navy style!

PS. If you click on the photos you can see them in large size!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Kimolos – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Sikinos, Greece | Part 1 | my blue flamingo

  2. Pingback: Sikinos, Greece | Part 2 | my blue flamingo

  3. Pingback: Folegandros | The Sea | my blue flamingo

Leave a Reply

