Woven Wall Hangings – New trend

Today I will talk to you about a new trend I’ve noticed the last days on my internet-leisure…
It’s about woven wall hangings. At first, I though “oh..something like rugs, on the wall..nice…” but then, after some searching, I learned that it’s about a whole type of art and craftwork! It is referred as well as “macrame“. Eventually, macrameis the method of creating these forms, using knotting and weaving. It’s the same as the friendship bracelets we used to make as teenagers!
A variety of materials, types of knots and playful patterns are used to produce these exquisite pieces.

I also learned that it was long crafted by sailors, especially in elaborate or ornamental knotting forms, to decorate anything from knife handles to bottles to parts of ships. Interesting, right?

What I like the most about these wall hangings is the combination of ancient craftwork and folk feature with a modern twist providing this piece of art! I think it’s a great idea of decorating some walls and highlight every room!

And some in more traditional style

macrame2

For the end, I have for you some links of weaver profiles to see, very interesting:
Brook&Lynne and DreamWeavers
And some DIY links from other blogs, to make your own macrame piece!
Macrame wall hanging and Macrame curtain

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

